Find out who won at the Students’ Union Awards 2021

The Students' Union Awards 2021 took place virtually on Thursday evening, 27 May. It was a great opportunity to celebrate the best of University of East London's community and to thank students and University staff who work hard to create a great student experience.

We would like to thank everyone that attended and congratulate our awards winners.

Course reps

Best course rep (Architecture, Computing and Engineering):  Shivam Popli

Best course rep (Arts and Creative Industries): Jessica Luana Lopes Joao

Best course rep (Business and Law): Harjot Kaur

Best course rep (Education and Communities): Wangshu Jiang

Best course rep (Health, Sport and Bioscience): Esosa Edosomwan

Best course rep (Psychology): Tecla Zanin


Academic and professional staff awards

Best academic adviser: Barbara Catwell (Health, Sport and Bioscience)

Most effective supervisor: Sonya Dineva (Psychology)

Most effective feedback: David Watkinson (Health, Sport and Bioscience)

Most creative teacher winner: Carol Resteghini (Health, Sport and Bioscience)

Professional staff: Joao Cipriani (Arts and Creative Industries)

Outstanding teacher of the year: Elley Wakui (Psychology)


Student groups

Best committee member: Nadine Pinnock, Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) Society

Best new student group: Media and Journalism Society

Student group of the year: LGBTQ+ society